Working Group on Admission Policies and Practices

The Supreme Court’s June 2023 decision on race-conscious college admissions has focused significant attention on issues of access and equity at institutions like Williams. In this context, the Williams Board of Trustees and college leadership have decided to establish a working group of trustees, administrative leaders and faculty to review, during the 2023-2024 academic year, our admissions policies and practices.

The group is charged with reviewing historical and current data, both Williams’ own and in the context of the national admission landscape. Their work will guide Williams’ Board of Trustees in its consideration of how current admission practices and policies support Williams’ mission and aspirations, described in the strategic plan.

The Working Group invites input from members of the Williams community: Use the online form to submit your comments.

Working Group Members

Elizabeth A. Andersen ’87, Trustee
Elizabeth Creighton ’01, Dean of Admissions and Student Financial Services
Jeffrey E. Delaney ’05, Trustee
Leticia S. E. Haynes ’99, Vice President for Institutional Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Gretchen Long, Dean of the College and Frederick Rudolph ’42–Class of 1965 Professor of American Culture
Sara LaLumia, David A. Wells Professor of Economics
Protik Majumder, Barclay Jermain Professor of Natural Philosophy
Maud S. Mandel, President of the College and Professor of History (working group chair)
Lisa Melendy, Director of Athletics and Assistant Professor in Physical Education
Megan Morey, Vice President of College Relations
Liz Robinson ’90, Trustee and Board Chair
Lara Shore-Sheppard, Dean of the Faculty and Kimberly A. ’96 and Robert R. ’62 Henry Professor of Economics
Eiko Maruko Siniawer ’97, Provost and Class of 1955 Memorial Professor of History
Nathan K. Sleeper ’95, Trustee