Committee on Diversity & Community

The Committee on Diversity and Community (CDC), formerly the Commission on Campus Race Relations (CCRR), is a non-standing committee that focuses on issues of diversity and community on campus and makes recommendations on both curricular and extracurricular matters with the intention of promoting better understanding between and among groups on campus. The Committee, comprising faculty, staff, and students, is charged with examining the health of our Williams community with respect to diversity and inclusion. In addition, the CDC discusses problems and proposes initiatives with regard to the College’s commitment to educate students for engagement with our increasingly diverse world.

The Vice President for Institutional Diversity and Equity solicits faculty nominations from the Faculty Steering Committee, student self-nominations through the College Council, and self-nominations from staff. The two ex officio members are the Vice President and Associate Dean for Institutional Diversity and Equity.

Over the years, the CDC has reviewed topics such as staff and faculty recruitment and retention, discrimination and sexual harassment/misconduct grievance procedures, admission and financial aid policies and practices, student orientation and advising training, and student retention and academic success. More recently, the Committee sponsored the Williams Reads project during Winter Study and hosted numerous discussion group sessions. The Committee will continue to explore the intellectual, cultural, and social experiences of the many diverse communities within the wider College community of students, faculty, and staff.

Membership 2020-2021

Jackie Hidalgo, Co-Chair, OIDEI; Latino/o/x Studies; and Religion
Ethan Barron, Athletics
Johanna Breiding, Art
Christine DeLucia, History
Christopher Goh, Chemistry; OIDEI; and the Davis Center
Shinko Kagaya, Japanese
Shikha Singh, Computer Science
Chad Topaz, Mathematics and Statistics

Bilal Ansari, Co-Chair, OIDEI
Twink Burns, Admission and Financial Aid
Lisa Conathan, Archives
Jessika Drmacich, Archives
Valerie Bailey Fischer, Chaplains Office
Pam Franks, WCMA (Museum)
Eden-Reneé Hayes, Davis Center (OIDEI)
Leticia S. E. Haynes, OIDEI
Nancy Macauley, Campus Safety
Christina Sanborn, Facilities
Anthony Pernell-McGee, 68 Center for Career Exploration
Clinton Williams, Special Academic Programs (OIDEI)

Essence Perry ‘22, Student Co-Chair
Ethan Dinçer 23
Dacia Green 21
Mohammed Memfis 21
Amy Lam 22
Vanessa Oeien 22
Hazel Richards 23