Lecture Committee

The Lecture Committee is composed of 3 faculty, 1 staff, and 3 students (3-1-3)

The Lecture Committee selects, schedules, and makes arrangements for visiting lecturers who would be of interest to the College community. The committee frequently works in conjunction with departments, programs, and administrative offices of the College to co-sponsor appearances. While the Lecture Committee is not the only source of funds for this purpose, it is an important one. The Director of Commencement and Academic Events serves as an ex officio voting member.

The Lecture Committee, through a subcommittee composed only of its faculty members, also invites Williams faculty colleagues to present public lectures in the annual Faculty Lecture Series, which occur each Thursday in the first half of the spring semester. The chair of the subcommittee need not be the same as the chair of the main committee.

There will be two rounds of funding for the fall: September 22 and November 13, 2023. The deadline for spring event funding is Feb 16 , 2024.

Here is the memo for 2023-24 funding. We welcome you to fill out our online request form

For information on planning your event and setting up speaker contracts, click here.


  • Michael MacDonald (Chair)
  • Anne Jaskot
  • Elizabeth McGowan
  • Carrie Greene, Director of Commencement and Academic Events
  • Alison Zhang ’24
  • Evan Boyle ’25
  • Julia Karp ’26