Ad Hoc Public Art Committee


The Ad Hoc Public Art Committee is charged with articulating the purposes of public art at Williams and creating regular practices for each phase of a potential project, from conception and community engagement to installation and ongoing maintenance.  The committee’s recommendations will address the absence of a clearly articulated vision for and established processes around public art installations on campus, will be intended to help guide those who may be interested in bringing installations to campus, and will inform the college’s approach to public art.


Laylah Ali ’91, Francis Christopher Oakley Third Century Professor of Art, Chair of Studio Art and Co-Chair of Art Department
Pamela Franks, Class of 1956 Director of the Williams College Museum of Art
Shaun M. Garvey, Senior Project Manager, Planning, Design and Construction
Amy Podmore, J. Kirk T. Varnedoe 1967 Professor of Art
Rit Premnath, Associate Professor of Art
Pallavi Sen, Assistant Professor of Art
Eiko Maruko Siniawer ’97, Provost and Class of 1955 Memorial Professor of History
John Skavlem ’25, Student