Advisory Committee on Shareholder Responsibility

The Advisory Committee on Shareholder Responsibility (ACSR) is a non-standing committee composed of two faculty, two staff, two students, and two alumni. When requested by a member of the College community, the ACSR provides advice to the Investment Committee of the Board of Trustees on matters relating to non-financial aspects of the investment portfolio. The ACSR stands ready to respond to requests from the College community concerning socially responsible investment of the endowment, and as a result of an evaluation it may decide to recommend action to the Investment Committee. In making recommendations, the ACSR seeks to carry out its responsibilities in a manner consistent with College policies and values. It recognizes the importance of combining strong financial performance with social and environmental commitment.

Periodically, the ACSR has played a role in providing comment on other matters, including recommending investment vehicles for the Williams Social Choice Fund — an alumni giving option that both helps the College fulfill its mission and contributes to positive social and environmental change.

Please contact the Chair of the ACSR if you have an issue for this committee’s consideration.

For more information on the College’s investment program, please see


Report on “A Proposal for Divestment” by The Advisory Committee on Shareholder Responsibility (April 2015)

Appendices to ACSR Report



    Administrative Staff

    • David A. Love
    • Fred Puddester
    • Abigail Wattley ’05 (ex officio)


    • Paul Neely ’68
    • Laurie Thomsen ’79


    Ali Ladha ’21