Staff Advisory Council


The Staff Advisory Council is a group of staff members from across the college that meets regularly with Human Resources leadership to research, discuss, and provide feedback on institutional policies and practices.  Outside of monthly meetings, Council members act as ambassadors to their local campus communities, sharing information and identifying issues of importance to staff. The Council also collaborates with HR staff to organize annual staff appreciation events.

Examples of staff policies and procedures the Council has shaped are:

  • Expanded staff tuition benefit
  • Accelerated schedule for increasing vacation accruals for support staff
  • Changes to the bereavement policy


The council is comprised of 18 members, 3 from each of the “Neighborhoods” listed below.  We created these neighborhoods so that the membership of the council can represent the community as a whole.  New members are solicited annually. Staff may express interest themselves or be referred by others. Council members serve a 3 year term.    The Council meets monthly.


Name Departments Covered / Council Members
Academic Departments

All departments reporting to the Dean of the Faculty (including Mystic)

Lauren Vining-Barsotti, Computer Science Department, March 2021 – December 2023

Justine Beringer, Dean of the Faculty Office, March 2020 – December 2022

Anna Robertson, Athletics Department, March 2020 – December 2022

Campus Life and College Relations

All departments reporting to the VP for Campus Life and VP for College Relations, except for Dining.

Leila Derstine, Alumni Relations, March 2019 – December 2022

Kelan O’Brien, Development Office, January 2020 – December 2022


Dining Services

Jordan Phillips, Dining Services, March 2021 – December 2023

Alison Stitcher, Dining Services, March 2019 – December 2022

Central Admin All departments reporting to:

  • Chief Communications Officer
  • Chief Investment Officer
  • Dean of the College
  • President
  • VP, Institutional Diversity & Equity
  • VP, Finance and Administration

Except for Facilities.

Janice Williams, Dean’s Office, March 2021 – December 2023

Michael Storm, Office of Communications, March 2021 – December 2023



Provost’s Areas All departments reporting to the Provost, including:

  • Libraries
  • Office for Informational Technology
  • Williams College Museum of Art
  • Science Center
  • Zilkha Center

Jessie R. Mandel, Office of Information Technology, March 2021 – December 2023

Barbara Palmer, WCMA, March 2019 – December 2022

Ex Officio members

Danielle Gonzalez, Director, Human Resources
Cecilia Hirsch, Manager, Spouse Partner Resources, Human Resources
Richard Duncan, HR Coordinator, Human Resources

Staff Council welcomes questions, comments and suggestions from members of the staff. 

For more information visit the Human Resources website.